For the past 8 years I have stayed home with my girls, while my husband has been the breadwinner so to speak. Various things came my way during those years:
• MOPS (Mothers of Preschoolers) Support Group
• Started a home sewing business (Sun Berry Designs)
• ABC Preschool (Parent Co-Operative)
• Became an Educational Consultant (Usborne Books)
• Joined PTA (Parent Teacher Association)
• Facilitated a discussion group for Parents (Unitarian Universalist Fellowship of Fairbanks or UUFF)
• Became a Community Resource Coordinator for my daughters Elementary School
My motto has been try anything that comes my way, give it a year commitment and then re-evaluate.

With all the changes that have occurred around here in the last 6 months, I have done more reflection than usual. Maybe that is because my current job (first one out of the house in a long time) is not quite what I anticipated. 

Ultimately the last 5 months, of working for someone else, I have seen that I am supposed to create my own destiny.

My husband is an architect, and very interested in sustainability. So we often have discussions about the environment, building designs/materials, etc. Lately I have been noticing the same concerns throughout other industries as well. One in particular area is in crafts & gifts. I am in love with the website Etsy.com. What an ingenious idea! I am in the process of setting up my online store there. I will add links as I get that figured out!

Another thing of interest is the Handmade Pledge movement that is going on. These are all things that I have practiced (time allowing) so making it a campaign is amazing… The premise is that we are actually ‘helping’ the environment by buying local items and/or making your own gifts.

So what would it take to set up a ‘new’ business in my life? I think I would do quite a bit, to know I could, surround myself with handmade goodness all day AND create loving things for others too. My first blush as a dream would be to run a sewing lounge with a boutique on the front with local-handmade consignment items. Is it a financially feasible idea though? That is where I keep catching my mind wondering… I need to do more exploring on this I think, so plans are: Keep my home sewing business afloat, deal with my current job situation, do Farmers Market again this summer and keep networking with like minded folks, start taking some business classes and actually WRITE a business plan. Yikes…

I am hoping that my friend Laura would like to jump into this venture with me too. Can’t think of a better way to spend my days!

Wish me luck!

